IN Defiance An Ivy Nash Thriller


Author John W. Mefford introduces Ivy Nash in the second series of the Redemption Thriller Collection.

A volatile hostage situation at a foster home reaches a bitter end: shots are fired, some die, some live to tell a sordid tale. In the midst of the anguish and confusion is one child who will bear the scars of this unbelievable turmoil.

As a special investigator for Child Protective Services, Ivy Nash lives by one rule: she’ll do anything to fight for the well-being of children. Anything. Something that was never done for her. As a “system” kid, she spent time in seventeen foster homes. Seventeen.

Very quickly, the facts of the case are blurred…accusations of sibling abuse, connections to drugs. Nothing lines up, and authorities want it all to go away. Their target? A ten-year-old boy. Unrelenting in her pursuit to find the truth, Ivy and her new friend Cristina uncover alarming new information to pinpoint who is at the root of the crime.

But evil knows no boundaries. Shock waves of her most horrific childhood memories erupt into the present, and Ivy knows that she’s in the fight for her life.

My Review-

There hasn’t been a book by John Mefford I haven’t enjoyed reading, and IN Defiance is not different. From the first page to the very last you are in the middle of a fast paced titillating crime thriller that does not disappoint in anyway. 

Ivy Nash, special investigator for Child Protective Services knows foster care , and knows it well, seventeen years well. She knows nearly all the ins and outs from her own dramatic childhood she’d love to leave behind. Fighting and protecting children not much different than herself Ivy devotes her life to the kids trying to prevent any of them going through what she had lived with. As a new case comes her way she is more than ready to take it on, but as the gruesome details start to be uncovered Ivy isn’t so sure things are as they seem. 

Drugs, abuse, deceit and lies are creating gaps in the case leaving everyone’s suspicion on the only survivor- a ten year old boy. Something doesn’t seem right to Ivy as she pursues the answers to uncover the gruesome crimes surrounding the boy, but she would do anything to protect him- even if it means stepping into the line of danger herself. 

Will Ivy be able to help uncover what really happened during a violent hostage situation, and keep the child safe? Or is she protecting the very suspect that the police are looking for? You’ll have to read IN Defiance to find out! 

 Fast paced, and full of well developed characters, IN Defiance was a nice start to a new series. There are suspenseful twists and turns throughout the story line that keep you on edge as well as guessing till the very end. I look forward to reading more of Ivy Nash’s story and how she grows through the next few books. If you enjoy fast paced thrillers you will enjoy IN Defiance! 

Part of the Redemption Thriller Collection which includes the Alex Troutt Thrillers and the upcoming Ivy Nash Thrillers. While all of the novels can be read as a stand-alone, there is a connecting thread in the Redemption Thriller books that will be unveiled over time. For a more fulfilling reading experience, books should be read in order: Alex Troutt, and then Ivy Nash. More series will be added into the collection within the next year.

Available to buy from…. Barnes and Noble iBooks Kobo Paperback

“Rife with deceit and deception and characters that leap off the page, this story is told with confidence through a sure hand, engaging both the mind and the heart. A compelling treat.” — Steve Berry, New York Times Bestselling Author

Books in the Alex Troutt Thriller Series:

AT Bay
AT Large
AT Once
AT Dawn
AT Dusk
AT Last

Books in the Ivy Nash Thriller Series:

IN Defiance

Coming soon….
IN Pursuit
IN Doubt
Break IN
IN Control
IN The End

About the Author
A veteran of the corporate wars, former journalist, and true studier of human and social behavior, best-selling author John W. Mefford has been writing novels since he first entered the work force twenty-five years ago, although he never put words on paper until late 2009.

John writes novels full of intrigue, suspense, and thrills, but they also evoke an emotional connection with the characters.

When he’s not writing, he chases three kids around, slaves away in the yard, reads, takes in as many sports as time allows, watches all sorts of movies, and continues to make mental notes of people and societies across the land.

John lives in Frisco, Texas with his beautiful wife, three opinionated kids, and a feisty fat cat who rules the world.

“Pop on over to my Website, Facebook, Twitter, Google+, Goodreads and Amazon Author Page

Join John’s Readers’ Group and receive the first novels in both the Greed and Booker Series

Follow the tour


I received this book through Beck Valley Books Book Tours, I have volunteered to share my review and all the opinions are 100% my own.


Win IN Defiance by John W Mefford ebook
3 Winners!!
Ending on Sunday 5th February at 11.59pm CST

Open Worldwide

Enter HERE

Good Luck !!

Are you a book reviewer or book blogger? Join our book tours reviewers team – Apply Here x

Current book tours open for sign ups HERE

One thought on “IN Defiance An Ivy Nash Thriller

Comments are closed.